lawson mcgraw


apm logo


facebook twitter


linked in

Individual Assessment of Project Management Capability


The assessment is designed for candidates who intend to embark upon the APM qualification structure and wish in advance of the course to assess their capabilities against the learning objectives within the syllabus. A detailed assessment of the candidate’s knowledge and competency in project management is an integral part of the roadmap towards professionalism. Fundamentally, the assessment attempts to identify how well the candidate plans, monitors and controls a project from a process and people perspective.




Route Map to Professionalism (Qualification Structure)

The route map to professionalism outlines a structured process to develop the individual towards project management accreditation. The Association for Project Management (apm) prescribes the following 4-off step qualification process: -


1. Introductory Certificate in Project Management - APM Introductory Certificate in Project Management is designed for those individuals who are relatively new to the formal principles of project management, or those individuals who wish to refresh or reinforce their knowledge.


2. APMP Foundation Qualification - APMP (IPMA Level D) is the qualification that will allow the individual to demonstrate their knowledge of the requirements to manage a successful project. APMP is the benchmarked qualification for anyone embarking on a project management career.


3. Practitioners Qualification - APM Practitioners Qualification (IPMA level C) is for Project Managers with considerable experience in managing projects who wish to further their professionalism.


4. Certificated Project Manager - APM Certificated Project Manager (IPMA level B) is the internationally recognised qualification for senior project management professionals.


Continual Professional Development (CPD)

The Association for Project Management (apm) prescribes a CPD framework to guide the individual in the pursuit of development and promotion. There are essentially four parts to the CPD process: -


1. Assessment of Capabilities - Assessment of knowledge and competency against the APM Body of Knowledge will provide the basis of the respective individuals professional development plan.


2.Prepare Development Plan - Construct the profile of the knowledge and skills required to succeed in your current position alongside the skills required for any future role. Prepare the professional development plan to meet realistic targets, both in terms of resources and timeframes.


3. Learn & Develop - In addition to executing the plan, the Association for Project Management recommends a variety of activities that offer learning and development opportunity. Keep a record of all development that has been undertaken as evidence of learning. Use the knowledge to demonstrate competency. The apm offer a points system to give guidance on the weight of an activity might carry in the CPD journey.


4. Assess Achievements - Assess achievements on an ongoing basis and align the enhanced knowledge and competency to the initial assessment of capabilities.